Health Information Technology

Print PDF

HHS Redefines 2014 Certified EHR Technology Criteria

Posted on November 8, 2013 in Health Information Technology

Written by: Ammon R. Fillmore

This month, the Department of Health and Human Services (“HHS”) announced it is redefining the 2014 certification criteria for Certified Electronic Health Record Technology (“CEHRT”) for the Meaningful Use Incentive Program. The previous 2011 CEHRT criteria required that eligible providers have complete CEHRT capable of meeting all certification criteria for an inpatient or ambulatory setting. However, some stakeholders felt that the 2011 CEHRT criteria did not account for eligible providers’ scope of practice and required purchasing CEHRT capabilities that were not necessary to successfully attest as a Meaningful User. 

Going forward, HHS has changed the policy and definition of what constitutes CEHRT in the new 2014 edition of the EHR certification criteria. Now, eligible providers need only to acquire the CEHRT necessary to meet Stage 1 or Stage 2 requirements for Meaningful Use in the eligible providers practice setting. This means that an eligible provider can implement an EHR tailored to its needs using modular certified technology.

If you have questions regarding Certified Electronic Health Record Technology, please contact Jeff Short at 317-977-1413 or, Ammon Fillmore at 317-977-1492 or or your regular Hall Render attorney.